Showing posts from April, 2012

Truth Team - Get the Facts

The Truth Team is a network of supporters of President Obama who are committed to responding to unfounded attacks and defending the President’s record. When you’re faced with someone who misrepresents the truth, you can find all the facts you need by clicking on the following link—along with ways to share the message with whoever needs to hear it.Truth Team

Are You Registered to Vote?

The Kentucky primary election is on Tuesday, May 22nd, and polls will be open from 6:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Before you can vote, you must be registered.  The deadline for Kentucky voter registration for the 2012 Primary Election is April 23, 2012.
If you have questions about your registration, or where to go to vote, check out the Kentucky Secretary of State's Voter Information Center.

National Federation of Democratic Women Annual Convention is set for May 30-June 3

The 41st annual convention of the National Federation of Democratic Women is set for May 30-June 3 at the Brown Hotel in Louisville. A full slate of activities will include workshops, committee meetings, and the Federation's annual banquet, plus optional excursions such as a bourbon country tour and a visit to former Governor Brereton Jones' 2,500 acre horse farm. If you're interested in attending as part of the Kentucky delegation, click here for the full registration packet.

Our Executive Committee

Today, the Jessamine County Democratic Convention and Caucus took place at party headquarters on Main Street. During this quadrennial event, we elected the twenty members of our new Executive Committee (listed alphabetically):

Peter Brackney
John Carpenter
Wm. Neal Cassity
Jacqueline Coleman
Kevin Corman
Lou Ann Kruse
George Dean
Leonard Edwards
Claudette Ison
Harold KingRuby Mason
Eva McDaniel
Chris O’Bryan Tom Swisher Sally Thalheimer
Cindy Tudor JoAnn Travis Joe Walker
Sue Wareham
Wini Yunker
The Executive Committee also convened a meeting and selected from its ranks two co-chairs (Peter Brackney and Harold King) and a vice chair (Ruby Mason). The co-chairs selected JoAnn Travis to serve as secretary, Sue Wareham to serve as assistant secretary, and Wendy Anderson to serve as treasurer.
Thanks to all who attended today's meeting! Our Executive Committee meets on a monthly basis (second Monday of the month, 6:30 p.m. in the Fiscal Courtroom at the Courthouse) and meeting are ope…

Obama Opening Kentucky HQ This Saturday

President Obama is opening his Kentucky re-election headquarters in Kentucky this Saturday. If you can, join Rep. John Yarmuth (D), Louisville Mayor Jim Fischer (D), and others for the festivities. Below is the basic information, but more information is available on!

Saturday, April 7, 2012 from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.


Obama Kentucky HQ @ 617 Baxter Ave., Louisville, KY 40204

County Convention on April 14 at Party HQ

With Precinct Conventions behind us, the next step in the Democratic Party's quadrennial reorganization is the County Convention and County Caucus. This year's convention and caucus are scheduled for April 14, 2012. We will commence at 10:00 a.m. at the Jessamine County Democratic Party Headquarters, 219 North Main Street, Nicholasville.

At the County Convention, we will elect our County Executive Committee. Per the bylaws of the KDP, membership is to be between 10 and 20 Democrats divided equally by gender and with at least one member under age 35. A Chair and Vice Chair of the Executive Committee will also be elected. Any registered Democrat may attend, participate in, and be elected to the County Executive Committee (though only members of the Precinct Committees may vote in these elections).

We will also be electing Delegates an Alternatves to both the Congressional District and State Conventions which will be held on June 2 in Louisville.

The County Caucus is the first s…